EENI Global Business School

African Union. Economic Community. Abuja

Share by Twitter

Syllabus of the Subject

Africa Monetary Fund. African Union Commission Free-Trade Area

  1. Introduction to the African Union (AU)
    1. Constitutive Act of the African Union
    2. Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
  2. Objectives and members. Organs of the African Union
    1. Pan-African Parliament
    2. African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights
  3. Specialized Technical Committees of the African Union
  4. Financial Institutions of the African Union
    1. African Central Bank
    2. African Monetary Fund
    3. African Investment Bank
  5. African Union Commission
    1. African Union Commission on International Law
  6. Department of Trade and Industry
    1. Division of Trade
      1. Action Plan for Boosting Intra-Africa Trade
      2. Continental Free-Trade Area (AfCFTA)
      3. African Common Market
    2. Division of Industry
    3. Division of Customs
  7. Department of Rural Economy and Agriculture
  8. Department of Economic Affairs
    1. Economic Integration and Regional Cooperation Division
    2. Status of Integration in Africa
    3. Minimum Integration Programme
    4. Economic Policies and Research Division
    5. Private Sector Development, Investment, and Resource Mobilization Division
  9. African Union Special Programs
    1. Conference on Security, Stability Development and Cooperation in Africa
  10. Regional Economic Communities
    1. Community of Sahel-Saharan States
    2. Economic Community of Central African States
    3. Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa
    4. Economic Community of West African States
    5. Intergovernmental Authority on Development
    6. Southern African Development Community
    7. Arab Maghreb Union
  11. AU Convention on Combating Corruption
  12. Partnerships of the African Union (EU, China, Japan, the U.S., Korea)

Sample - African Union (AU):
Africa Agenda 2063

The goals of the subject “African Union (AU)” are the following:

  1. To understand the objectives, functions, and the affiliated institutions of the African Union (AU): The largest African institution
  2. To know the financial bodies of the AU (African Monetary Fund...)
  3. To analyze the role of the Departments of Trade and Industry and Customs
  4. To understand the role of the African Union in the socio-economic development and the African Integration process (towards the Continental Free-Trade Area)
  5. To understand the concept of “African Common Market”
  6. To assess the status of the African Integration and to know the Minimum Integration Programme
  7. To understand the relationship between the African Union and the regional economic communities (REC)
  8. To know the African Union Convention on Preventing and Combating Corruption

African Student, Master / Doctorate International Business

The Subject “African Union (AU)” belongs to the following Online Programs taught by EENI Global Business School:

Doctorate in African Business, World Trade.

Doctorate in International Business (DIB) Online

Master in Business in Africa, Transport in Africa, International Business, Foreign Trade.

Masters in International Business and Foreign Trade (MIB)

Paterson Ngatchou - EENI Strategic Alliances with educational institutions
EENI Partnerships with Educational Institutions

Course: African Institutions.

African Institutions (AU, AFDB, AUDA-NEPAD, UNECA)

Languages: Masters, Doctorate, International Business, English or Study Doctorate in International Business in French Union Africaine Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese União Africana Study Master Doctorate in International Business in Spanish Unión Africana.

  1. Credits of the Subject “African Union (AU)”: 1 ECTS Credits
  2. Duration: one week

African Economic Integration

The African Union (AU) is the largest African Organization and the principal institution for the socio-economic development and regional integration promotion in the African continent, which will lead to greater solidarity and unity between the African Countries and the African people.

African Union Convention on Preventing and Combating Corruption

The main objectives of the African Union (AU) are to:

  1. Remove the holdovers of the colonization and apartheid in Africa
  2. Promote the unity and solidarity among the African States
  3. Coordinate and enhance the cooperation for development
  4. Protect the sovereignty and territorial integrity of the member economies
  5. Foster the international cooperation within the framework of the UN

The vision of the African Union:

  1. The African Union is based on the shared vision of a united and strong Africa and the need to build a partnership between the African governments and all the segments of the African civil society (mainly women, youth, and private sector), to intensify the solidarity and cohesion between the African people
  2. As an African organization; the African Union focuses on peace, security, and stability promotion

The African Union Development Agency (AUDA-NEPAD) is a programme of the African Union created by Africans, for Africans and implemented by Africans.

The member countries of the African Union are Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Ivory Coast, DR Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic, São Tomé, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, South Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

  1. The Central African Republic was suspended in 2013 (Coup d'Etat)
  2. Morocco retired in 1984 due to the conflict of the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic
  3. Morocco is the newest member (January 2017)

The African Union belongs to the African Civilization.

Regional Economic Communities (REC) in Africa:

  1. Community of Sahel-Saharan States
  2. Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS)
  3. Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)
  4. Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)
  5. Intergovernmental Authority for Development
  6. Southern African Development Community (SADC)

Partnerships of the African Union with...

  1. Afro-Arab cooperation - Arab Bank for Africa (BADEA)
  2. European Union
    - Generalized System of Preferences
    - Cotonou Agreement
    - Euro-Mediterranean Partnership
    - European Neighborhood Policy
  3. Africa-South America Summit
  4. Africa-Asia Strategic Partnership (NAASP)
  5. India
  6. China-Africa Cooperation Forum (FOCAC)
  7. Turkey
  8. United States: AGOA
  9. Japan (TICAD) Process
  10. France
  11. Africa-Korea Partnership

EENI African Business Portal.

Related topics:

  1. Economic governance in Africa
  2. African Economic Transformation
  3. African Value Chains
  4. Programme for Infrastructure Development in Africa (PIDA)
  5. Cheryl Carolus is one of the inaugural members of the African Union Foundation

We Trust in Africa (Affordable Higher Education for Africans)

Sample - Continental Free-Trade Area (AfCFTA)
African Continental Free-Trade Area (AfCFTA) 1 billion people, 1.2 trillion dollar

Department of Trade (African Union)

African Monetary Fund

Programme for Infrastructure Development in Africa (PIDA)

(c) EENI Global Business School (1995-2024)
We do not use cookies
Top of this page

Knowledge leads to unity, but Ignorance to diversity