EENI Global Business School

Syllabus of the Subject

African Development Bank. Nigeria Trust Fund

Share by Twitter

Economic Integration in Africa. African Development Fund

  1. Introduction to the African Development Bank (AfDB)
  2. African Development Report
  3. Structure of the African Development Bank
  4. Strategy of the African Development Bank
    1. Infrastructure development (PIDA)
    2. Regional economic integration
    3. Intra-African trade
    4. Private sector development
    5. Governance and accountability
    6. Skills and Technology
  5. Funds of the African Development Bank:
    1. African Development Fund
    2. Nigeria Trust Fund
    3. Africa Trade Fund
    4. Africa 50 Infrastructure Fund
    5. African Financial Markets Initiative (AFMI)
    6. African Financing Partnership
    7. African Guarantee Fund for Small and Medium-sized Enterprises
  6. Financial instruments of the African Development Bank
  7. African Peer Review Mechanism AUDA-NEPAD
  8. African Women in Business Initiative
  9. Agriculture and agro-industries
  10. Agriculture Fast Track (AFT) Fund
  11. Case Study: Impact of the global crisis in Africa

Projects and Operations of the African Development Bank

  1. Introduction to the projects and operations of the African Development Bank
  2. Doing Business with the African Development Bank.
    1. Project Cycle
    2. Project identification
    3. Project preparation
    4. Project appraisal
    5. Loan negotiation
    6. Board approval
    7. Loan signing
    8. Loan effectiveness
    9. Implementation
    10. Post evaluation
    11. Procurement

Sample - African Development Bank Group:
African Development Bank. Economic Integration in Africa

The purposes of the subject “The African Development Bank” are the following:

  1. To understand the objectives, structure, and functions of the African Development Bank
  2. To identify the cooperation areas of the African Development Bank
  3. To analyze the strategy of the African Development Bank
  4. To evaluate the funds (African Development Fund, Nigeria Trust Fund, Goodwill of Africa) and the financial instruments of the African Development Bank
  5. To understand the functioning of the projects and operations of the African Development Bank

African Student, Doctorate, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade

The Subject “African Development Bank” belongs to the following Online Programs taught by EENI Global Business School:

Course: African Institutions.

African Institutions (AU, AFDB, AUDA-NEPAD, UNECA)

Master in Business in Africa, International Business, Foreign Trade.

Masters in International Business and Foreign Trade (MIB)

Doctorate in African Business, World Trade.

Doctorate in International Business (DIB) Online

Paterson Ngatchou - EENI Strategic Alliances with educational institutions
EENI Partnerships with Educational Institutions

Languages: Masters, Doctorate, International Business, English or Study Doctorate in International Business in French Banque Africaine Developpement Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese Banco Africano Desenvolvimento Study Master Doctorate in International Business in Spanish Banco Africano Desarrollo.

  1. Credits of the Subject “African Development Bank”: 2 ECTS Credits
  2. Duration: one week

African Economic Integration

The African Development Bank is a multilateral development bank whose shareholders include fifty-three African Countries (regional member countries) and twenty-four non-African Countries (America, Asia, and Europe).

The African Development Fund is managed by the African Development Bank and includes the Member States (donor countries) and recipient economies.

  1. The main objective of the African Development Fund is to achieve the poverty reduction in Africa by providing loans and grants

The Nigeria Trust Fund is a special African Development Bank fund created in 1976 by an agreement between the Bank Group and the Government of Nigeria.

  1. The objective of the Nigeria Trust Fund is to assist the development efforts of the low-income regional African Countries whose economic and social circumstances and forecasts require concessional financing

In 2014, the African Development Bank returned to Abidjan.

The African Development Bank belongs to the African Civilization.

African Regional Economic Communities (REC).

  1. Community of Sahel-Saharan States (CEN-SAD)
  2. Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)
  3. East African Community (EAC)
  4. Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS)
  5. Central African Economic and Monetary Community (CEMAC)
  6. Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)
  7. West African Economic and Monetary Union (WAEMU)
  8. West African Monetary Zone (WAMZ)
  9. Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD)
  10. Southern African Development Community (SADC)
  11. Southern African Customs Union (SACU)
  12. Arab Maghreb Union

Regional Integration in Africa.

Most of the Member Countries of the African Development Bank are small, undiversified and face physical, political, and policy-induced constraints to the deeper economic integration with their neighbor countries and global economy.

However, the economic cooperation and regional integration are fundamental if Africa surpasses the trade barriers and take its rightful place in the global market.

In the last forty years, the African Development Bank has promoted the Regional Economic Communities (REC) through the regional economic cooperation, international trade growth, capacity building and renewed assistance for the AUDA-NEPAD programs.

The African Development Bank also collaborates with the national governments and the pan-African Organizations; it is of particular importance with the African Union and the UNECA to rationalize and streamline the Regional Economic Communities structures.

Regional member countries of the African Development Bank: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Ivory Coast, DR Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, São Tomé, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Non-African Member Countries: Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, UK.

Related topics:

  1. African Economic Transformation
  2. African Continental Free-Trade Area

EENI African Business Portal.

African population African Value Chains.

Africa Trade Fund

We Trust in Africa (Affordable Higher Education for Africans)

(c) EENI Global Business School (1995-2024)
We do not use cookies
Top of this page

Knowledge leads to unity, but Ignorance to diversity