EENI Global Business School

Maghrebian Economic Area (Morocco)

Share by Twitter

Syllabus of the Subject

African - Islamic Civilization: Maghrebian Economic Area. Arab Maghreb Union

  1. Introduction to the Maghrebian Economic Area as a part of the Islamic Civilization and the African Civilization
  2. Islam in the Maghrebian Economic Area
  3. Economic Profile of the Maghrebian Countries: Morocco, Mauritania, Algeria, Tunisia and Libya
  4. Businesspeople of the Maghrebian Economic Area
  5. Logistics in the Maghreb
  6. Interactions of the Maghrebian Economic Area with the rest of the African Economic Areas (West Africa, Central Africa, Southern Africa, East Africa)
  7. Interactions of the Maghrebian Economic Area with the other economic areas
  8. Economic institutions related to the Maghrebian Economic Area

Arab Maghreb Union (AMU) Morocco, Mauritania, Algeria, Tunisia and Libya

The objectives of the subject “Maghrebian Economic Area” are the following:

  1. To understand the influence of Islam on the Maghrebian Economic Area
  2. To define the economic characteristics of the Maghrebian Economic Area
  3. To know the economic profile of the Maghrebian Countries
  4. To understand the economic integration process in the Maghrebian Economic Area
  5. To analyze the main businesspeople in the Maghreb
  6. To explore the economic relationships with the others economic areas of different civilizations
  7. To analyze the main Economic Organizations related to the Maghrebian Economic Area

Online Student Master in International Business

The Subject “Maghrebian Economic Area” belongs to the following Online Programs taught by EENI Global Business School:

Courses: Islam & Business, Business in the Maghreb.

Foreign Trade and Business in the Maghreb

Doctorate: Ethics, Religions & Business, African Business, World Trade.

Doctorate in International Business (DIB) Online

Masters: International Business, Foreign Trade , Religions & Business.

Masters in International Business and Foreign Trade (MIB)

Masters adapted to the Libyan Students.

Languages: Masters, Doctorate, International Business, English or Study Doctorate in International Business in French Espace économique maghrébin Study Master Doctorate in International Business in Spanish Espacio Económico Magrebí Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese Espaço Económico Magrebino.

Download the Syllabus of the Subject “Maghrebian Economic Area” (PDF).

  1. Credits of the Subject “Maghrebian Economic Area”: 1 ECTS Credits
  2. Duration: one week

Islam and Global Business. Islamic Economic Areas

International Trade and Business in the Maghreb (Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, and Mauritania)

The Maghrebian Economic Area consists of the five countries of the Arab Maghreb Union (AMU):

  1. Morocco
  2. Mauritania
  3. Algeria
  4. Tunisia
  5. Libya
  6. Furthermore, of the Western Sahara

Sunni Islam (Maliki) is the main religion of the Maghrebian Economic Area.

Culturally we could consider to North Africa as a part of the Islamic Civilization (Sunnite), but from economic integration also part of the African Civilization.

  1. Arabic and French are the most spoken languages in the Maghreb
  2. Tamazight is the language of the Berbers
  3. 87 million people live in the Maghreb
  4. The most populous country is Algeria (40 million people), followed by Morocco (33)
  5. The largest Economy (GDP) is Algeria, followed by Morocco and Tunisia
  6. All the Maghrebian Countries were former colonies of the European powers (France, Spain, and Italy)
  7. Significant effects of the Arab Spring
  8. Absolute instability in Libya
  9. Influence of the Sahara is crucial on the Maghreb
  10. Importance of the Maghrebian Diaspora in France and Spain
  11. Hichem Djaït is an outstanding Tunisian Muslim historian

The largest Maghrebian ports are the Port of Casablanca, Port of Algiers, and Port of La Goulette.

Trans-Saharan corridors crossing through the Maghreb: Tripoli-Windhoek, Dakar-Lagos, Algiers-Lagos, and Cairo-Dakar Corridor (Mauritania).

Businesspeople in the Maghrebian Economic Area: Othman Benjelloun, Anas Sefrioui, Mohamed Hassan Bensalah, Ali Haddad, Issad Rebrab, Aziz Akhannouch, Miloud Chaabi, Mohamed Ali Harrath.

The main Maghrebian economic integration process is the Arab Maghreb Union.

  1. Mauritania and Tunisia has a trade agreement

African Economic Integration

Main integration agreements with the others economic areas.

  1. Community of Sahel-Saharan States (CEN-SAD) (Morocco, Mauritania, and Tunisia)
  2. Morocco and Tunisia belong to the Arab Mediterranean Agreement (Agadir)
  3. Trade Preferential System (OIC-TPS)
  4. Greater Arab Free-Trade Area (GAFTA)
  5. US-Morocco Agreement
  6. Morocco and Tunisia have Trade Agreements with Turkey
  7. Jordan has trade agreements with Algeria, Libya, and Tunisia
  8. Iran has a trade agreement with Algeria
  9. Mauritania has an agreement with the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)
  10. Libya is a member of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Agreement, and COMESA-U.S. Agreement
  11. EU-Maghreb
    1. Euro-Mediterranean Partnership (Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia, and Mauritania)
    2. European Neighborhood Policy (Algeria, Libya, Morocco, and Tunisia)
    3. Economic Partnership Agreements with Algeria, Morocco, and Tunisia
    4. Mauritania is a beneficiary of the Africa-EU Partnership
  12. The EFTA has a trade agreement with Tunisia and Morocco

Market Access - Free Trade Agreements

Economic Organizations related to the Maghrebian Economic Area.

  1. OIC
    1. Standing Committee for Economic and Commercial Cooperation
    2. Islamic Centre for Development of Trade
    3. Islamic Chamber of Commerce
    4. Statistical, Economic and Social Research and Training Centre
  2. Islamic Development Bank
  3. Arab League
  4. Afro-Arab Cooperation
  5. Arab Development Funds
  6. Africa-Asia Strategic Partnership
  7. Economic Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA) (Libya, Morocco, Mauritania, and Tunisia)
  8. All the Maghrebian Countries are part of the African Union (except Morocco), Economic Commission for Africa, African Development Bank, Summit of South American-Arab Countries, and Asia-Middle East Dialogue

EENI African Business Portal.

Ports of Morocco, Casablanca, Agadir, Tangier, Mohammedia

We Trust in Africa (Affordable Higher Education for Africans)

(c) EENI Global Business School (1995-2024)
We do not use cookies
Top of this page

Knowledge leads to unity, but Ignorance to diversity