EENI Global Business School

COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Agreement

Share by Twitter

Syllabus of the Subject

Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Malawi (COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite)

  1. Introduction to the COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Agreement
  2. Institutional framework of the Tripartite Agreement
  3. Areas of intervention of the COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Agreement
  4. Tripartite Free Trade Agreement (FTA)
    1. Trade-Related mechanisms
  5. Trade and transport facilitation
  6. Infrastructure Development
  7. Corridors and infrastructure in the COMESA-SADC-EAC Tripartite Area
    1. North-South Corridor (NSC)
  8. Case Study: Mechanism for Reporting, Monitoring, and Eliminating Non-Tariff Barriers
  9. The African continental free-trade area

Sample - COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite
COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Agreement, Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Malawi...

The objectives of the subject “COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Agreement” are the following:

  1. To understand the goals (single customs union) and the areas of cooperation of the COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Agreement
  2. To evaluate the benefits for the tripartite members
  3. To understand the advantages of the tripartite free-trade area (FTA)
  4. To analyze Trade Facilitation programs, transport corridors, and non-tariff barriers removal of the COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite
  5. To understand the tripartite agreement as a step towards the African Continental Free-Trade Area

Students, Doctorate, Master in International Business, Foreign Trade

African Economic Integration

- Twenty-six countries representing near 527 million people (57% of the African Union's population).
- GDP= 624 billion dollars (58% of the GDP of the African Union).

The COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Free Trade Agreement consists of...

Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) members economies: Burundi, Comoros, DR Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

EAC (East African Community) members: Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, and Burundi.

Southern African Development Community (SADC) members: Angola, Botswana, the DR Congo, Comoros, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, the Seychelles, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Market Access - Free Trade Agreements

Comparative table of the COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Free Trade Agreement:
Members COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite

The main objective of the COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite is the creation of a single economic area:

  1. Free-Trade Area
  2. Customs Union
  3. Monetary Union
  4. Common Market

Moreover, the improvement of the regional infrastructures.

Non-tariff Measures to Trade

The topics covered by the COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite FTA are:

  1. Non-tariff, Technical Barriers to Trade (TBT)
  2. Rules of Origin
  3. Customs Cooperation
  4. Transit facilities
  5. Trade remedies
  6. Competition Policy
  7. Standards
  8. Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures
  9. Businessman Movement
  10. IPR
  11. Dispute Settlement

The COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite FTA belongs to the African Civilization.

  1. Southern African Economic Area
  2. East African Economic Area
  3. Central African Economic Area

Main corridors in the Tripartite Region.

  1. Cairo-Gaborone Corridor
  2. Tripoli-Windhoek
  3. Beira-Lobito Corridor
  4. Lagos-Mombasa
  5. Asia-Africa Corridor

Largest ports in the COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite region:

  1. Port Said
  2. Suez Canal
  3. Port Sudan
  4. Port of Djibouti
  5. Port of Mombasa
  6. Port of Dar es-Salaam
  7. Port of Luanda
  8. Port of Maputo
  9. Port of Durban

North-South African Transport Corridor, Botswana, Malawi, South Africa, Tanzania

EENI African Business Portal.

We Trust in Africa (Affordable Higher Education for Africans)

(c) EENI Global Business School (1995-2024)
We do not use cookies
Top of this page

Knowledge leads to unity, but Ignorance to diversity