EENI Global Business School

Hinduism, Businesspeople, Ethics (India)

Share by Twitter

Syllabus of the Subject

Ethical Principles of Hinduism: Non-Violence, Bhagavad-Gita, Sri Ramakrishna

“Truth is one; the wise call it by various names.” (Rig Veda).

Business and Hinduism, Jainism, Sikhism...

The Subject “Hinduism, Ethics and Business” consists of three parts:

  1. Introduction to Hinduism
  2. Hindu Businesspeople
  3. Hindu Economic Area

Hinduism and Business: Non-Violence, Bhagavad-Gita, Hindu Businesspeople...

Harmony of Religions. Sri Ramakrishna Principle and Global Business

  1. Introduction to Hinduism - “Sanatana Dharma” (Eternal Religion) - Vedanta
  2. Sacred Texts of Hinduism (Shruti and Smriti)
  3. Bhagavad-Gita
  4. Four Paths to God
  5. Path of Yoga
  6. Key concepts related to Hinduism:
    1. Interreligious Tolerance
    2. Body and Atman
    3. Samsara
    4. Good (Svayam Bhagavan, Parabrahma) Pervades all Things
  7. Ethical Principles of Hinduism:
    1. Non-Violence (Ahimsa)
    2. Truth (Satya)
    3. Not to steal (Asteya)
    4. Sexual moderation (Brahmacharya)
    5. Detachment from the results of actions
  8. Main traditions of Hinduism (Sampradaya)
    1. Vaishnavism
    2. Shaivism
    3. Shaktism
    4. Smartism
  9. Renewal of Hinduism:
    1. Sri Ramakrishna
    2. Swami Vivekananda
    3. Mahatma Gandhi
  10. Hinduism today
  11. Hinduism in Nepal, Bhutan, and Mauritius

Renewal of Hinduism: Sri Ramakrishna
Sri Ramakrishna Hinduism

“Everyone should follow his religion. A Christian should follow Christianity; a Muslim should follow Islam, and so on. For Hinduism, the old way, the way of the Aryan wises is the best.” Sri Ramakrishna.

  1. Introduction to the Hindu Economic Area
  2. Influence of Hinduism, Jainism, Sikhism, and Zoroastrianism on the Hindu Civilization
  3. Area of influence of the Hindu Civilization: Nepal, Mauritius, Bhutan, Indonesia, and East Africa
  4. Interactions of the Hindu Civilization with the other civilizations

S P Hinduja, Hindu Businessman, India, Application of Vedic Principles of Work

Download the syllabus “Hindu Economic Area” (PDF).

The objectives of the subject “Hinduism, Ethics and Business” are the following:

  1. To understand the fundamentals of Hinduism
  2. To understand the ethical principles of Hinduism
  3. To analyze the figures of Hindu Businesspeople
  4. To learn about the influence of Hinduism on business
  5. To understand the influence of Hinduism on the Hindu Civilization
  6. To explore the economic relations of the Hindu Civilization with the other civilizations
  7. To know the countries of influence of the Hindu Civilization

    Foreign Trade and Business in India (Bharat)

Online Student Master in International Business

The Subject “Hinduism, Ethics and Business” belongs to the following Online Programs taught by EENI Global Business School:

Course: Indian Religions and Business.

Doctorate: Global Ethics, Religions, and International Business.

Doctorate in International Business (DIB) Online

Masters: International Business, Religions and Business.

Masters in International Business and Foreign Trade (MIB)

  1. Why study “Hinduism and Business”?
  2. Why study Religions and Business?

Languages: Masters, Doctorate, International Business, English (or Study Master Doctorate in International Business in Spanish Hinduismo Study Doctorate in International Business in French Hindouisme Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese Hinduísmo).

  1. Credits of the Subject “Indian Religions - Hinduism”: 4 ECTS Credits
  2. Duration: 4 weeks
  3. Download the syllabus: “Indian Religions” (PDF)

Bharat / India, Masters, International Business Trade Masters adapted to Indian Students (Bharat).

Ahimsa (Non-Violence) and International Business. Jainism

Hinduism, Ethics and Business.

Attempting to define Hinduism is a complex task, the correct term for Hinduism should be “Sanatana Dharma” or the Eternal Law.

According to the Master Swami Vivekananda, the spiritual heir of Sri Ramakrishna:

“Hinduism is based on the accumulated treasure consisting of the spiritual laws discovered by different people in different times.”

The difficulty of finding a proper definition is that Hinduism has no central doctrinal authority (similar to the papacy in Catholicism), but they have swamis (teachers) or gurus (spiritual guides).

Today; it is common to identify four different types of Hinduism:

  1. Vaishnavism
  2. Shaivism
  3. Shaktism
  4. Smartism

The appellations are based primarily on the god worshipped as an absolute reality and the traditions that accompany worship of that God.

The vast majority of Hindus claim that Hinduism is monotheistic, claiming that Hindu pantheon is only the representations of one God to facilitate the human understanding of the Absolute Reality.

Hinduism is a Wisdom Tradition that evolves periodically throughout the history. “Live and let live” defines relatively well the vision of Hinduism.

Hinduism is probably the most tolerant religion with the others, as seen in the history of India in the last 2500 years. Hinduism has lived with Parsees, Sikhs, Muslims, Christians, Buddhists, and Jain.

The Chapter IV of the Bhagavad-Gita begins with one of the most beautiful and transcendental verses of the Bhagavad-Gita, which appreciate the tolerance of Hinduism with the other religions:

“When the kindness declines, When the wickedness increases
When the purpose of the life is forgotten.
I will manifest, I will return.
To pronounce the sacred; to destroy the sin of the sinner, to re-establish the way of the principles” Bhagavad-Gita IV 7-8

  1. About 950 million people practice Hinduism, mainly in India (Bharat)
  2. Hinduism is the third religion in the World by the number of believers, behind Islam and Christianity

The Absolute Reality of Hinduism is Brahman. The Hindus believe in the reincarnation and law of Karma.

Hinduism proposes different ways to reach God (the path of love, devotion, knowledge) depending on each person.


The Ethical Principles of Hinduism: Ahimsa (Non-Violence), detachment (abandonment of the fruits of the action), Truthfulness, Not to steal, Self-control, discipline, appropriate words and thoughts, and motivation to achieve the goal.

The principle of the Non-Violence (Ahimsa) should be one of the pillars of a global ethic. All religions also share the Ahimsa Principle especially Jain, Zoroastrians, and Buddhists.

Patanjali suggests the ethical practice of five exercises: ahimsa, truthfulness, non-stealing, pure life and not greed. This is widely reflected in the Bhagavad-Gita.

Previously we have seen several Hinduism values: Ahimsa (non-violence), tolerance, and truthfulness. All of which are part of the five Yamas (restraints or abstentions) and five Niyamas (observances or rules) set by Patanjali.

Yamas (restraints or abstentions).

  1. Non-Violence (Ahimsa)
  2. Truthfulness (Satya)
  3. Not to steal (Asteya)
  4. Sexual Moderation (Brahmacharya)
  5. Non-possession (Aparigraha)

Niyamas (Observances).

  1. Purity (Shauca)
  2. Satisfaction (Santosa)
  3. Austerity/Self-discipline (Tapas)
  4. Self-knowledge (Svadhyaya)
  5. Surrendering to God (Ishvarapranidhana)

Bhagavad-Gita (Hinduism) Gandhi (Master Doctorate)

Religions and Business - Zoroastrianism, Sikhism, Jainism, Buddhism.

Book: The Yoga of Wisdom - Bhagavad Gita (Gandhi) Nonell
Bhagavad Gita.

(c) EENI Global Business School (1995-2024)
We do not use cookies
Top of this page

Knowledge leads to unity, but Ignorance to diversity