EENI Global Business School

Buddhist Ethics

Share by Twitter

Syllabus of the Subject

Principles of the Buddhist Ethics. Four Noble Truths. Noble Eightfold Path

  1. Principles of the Buddhist Ethics
  2. Four Noble Truths
  3. Noble Eightfold Path of Buddhism
  4. Buddhist Golden Rule

Sample - Four Noble Truths
Buddhist Ethics. Four Noble Truths. Noble Eightfold Path of Buddhism

Asia Masters, Doctorate (Global Business, Foreign Trade)

Principles of the Buddhist Ethics
Buddhist Ethics. Four Noble Truths. Noble Eightfold Path of Buddhism

“This is O monks, the noble truth of the origin of suffering.
Ignorance, desire - attachment and the five poisons are those who produce new rebirths, those inclined to seek pleasure and satisfaction here and there, discouraging not to get what we wanted. It is the desire for the existence, the desire for non-existence” Buddha.

Principles of the Buddhist Ethics.

After his enlightenment, the Buddha went to Benares (Varanasi), the holy city of Bharat (India), and in the so-called Deer Park on the outskirts of the city, gave his first sermon: The Four Noble Truths, which are the pillar of Buddhismand the Buddhist Civilization.

The Four Noble Truths are:

  1. Life is suffering (“Dukkha”)
  2. The Cause of pain is the desire (“tanha”)
  3. If we overcome the selfish desire; we will eliminate suffering
  4. Noble Eightfold Path

In the West; it tends to misinterpret this first noble truth of Buddhism; it is understood as exclusively physical pain. However, suffering should be understood as something broader, as “the pain, which to some degree, encouraged all the finite existence” (Huston Smith).

Suffering may be a pain, sadness, imperfection, affliction, and superficiality. According to the English philosopher Alan Watts converted to Buddhism:

“Duhkha is the great disease of the World whose cure is obtained with the doctrine (dharma) of the Buddha.”

The more we stick to things, more problems may arise for us; it is a similar concept in Hinduism or Taoism.

Ignorance, hatred, longing, attachment are also causes of the pain.

The Fourth Truth, the Noble Eightfold Path, shows us the way to overcome the desire, eliminate suffering and finally reaching Nirvana.

Buddha offers us guidelines to develop a proper conduct, called the five precepts that make up the pillars of the Buddhist Ethics.

  1. Do not kill “I take the precept to respect life.” Derived from the principle of the Non-Violence (Ahimsa). Many Buddhists are vegetarians to respect Ahimsa
  2. Do not steal. “I take the precept of not taking what is not given to me.” Do not take what is not given me, implies Do not steal, not to disappoint, not cheat, not to do embezzlement
  3. Do not lie (Do not make false speech) “I take the precept of not speaking in a harmful manner”
  4. Do not indulge in sexual misconduct. “Refrain from inappropriate or harmful sexual behavior”
  5. Do not take intoxicants

Ahimsa (Non-Violence) and International Business. Jainism

The previous five precepts are the basis of the Buddhist ethics for the laypeople, and furthermore, these principles are shared by all the higher religions.

Buddhist version of the golden rule.

In the Udana V (“The venerable Sona), in the Chapter I” What one wants” we find the golden rule applied to Buddhism:

“This is the sum of duty: do not do to others what would cause pain if done to you”

Two awards Nobel peace, the Dalai Lama and Aung San Suu Kyi, both Buddhists, are today considered world leaders in favor for peace.

Doctorate: Ahimsa Buddhism

Foreign Trade and Business in Southeast Asia (ASEAN)

Religion and Business.

Gita-Ramakrishna Institute.

(c) EENI Global Business School (1995-2023)
We do not use cookies
Top of this page

Knowledge leads to unity, but Ignorance to diversity