EENI Global Business School

East-West Economic Corridor (Myanmar Vietnam)

Share by Twitter

Syllabus of the Subject

Myanmar, Thailand, Laos, Vietnam (East-West Economic Corridor)

  1. Introduction to the East-West Economic Corridor
  2. The Greater Mekong Subregion (Cambodia, China, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam) and the corridor
  3. Main features of the East-West Economic Corridor (Myanmar-Thailand-Laos-Vietnam)
  4. The North-South Economic Corridor
    1. The three sub-corridors: western, central and eastern
  5. The East-West Economic Corridor and the New Silk Road

Sample - East-West Economic Corridor (Myanmar-Thailand-Laos-Vietnam)
East-West Economic Corridor (Myanmar-Thailand-Laos-Vietnam)

Asia Masters, Doctorate (Global Business, Foreign Trade)

The Subject «East-West Economic Corridor (Myanmar-Thailand-Laos-Vietnam)» belongs to the following Online Programs taught by EENI Global Business School:

Transportation Courses: Road, Railway, Multimodal.

Road Transport

Diploma: International Transport.

Diploma in International Transport

Masters: International Transport, International Business.

Masters in International Business and Foreign Trade (MIB)

Doctorate: Global Logistics, World Trade.

Doctorate in International Business (DIB) Online

Languages: Masters, Doctorate, International Business, English. Summary in Study Master Doctorate in International Business in Spanish Corredor Este-Oeste Study Doctorate in International Business in French Corridor Est-Ouest Masters Foreign Trade in Portuguese Corredor Leste-Oest

Foreign Trade and Business in Southeast Asia (ASEAN)

Masters adapted to the students from Laos Online Master / Doctorate in International Business, Foreign Trade Laos, Myanmar Online Master / Doctorate in International Business, Foreign Trade Myanmar, Thailand, Masters, International Business Trade Thailand, and Vietnam, Masters, International Business Trade Vietnam.

Eurasian Land Transport Initiative (Silk Road, China-Europe)

The East-West Economic Corridor (Myanmar-Thailand-Laos-Vietnam) was created in 1998 as an initiative of the Greater Mekong Subregion. Over the years, it has evolved from a transport corridor to an economic corridor (transport information networks, energy, products and people). All the countries in the corridor are members of the ASEAN. The ASEAN has a Free-Trade Area with China.

The 1,320-kilometer corridor connects the Andaman Sea (Myanmar) to the Indian Ocean and the South China Sea (Vietnam) by road.

The travel between Mawlamyirine Port (Myanmar) and Da Nang Port takes a few hours

Corridor path

  1. Myanmar (200 km), the corridor departs from the Port of Mawlamyirine (third largest Burmese city) and reaches Myawaddy
    1. Provinces: Mawlamyline and Myawaddy
  2. Thailand (620 km) from Mae Sot to Mukdahan
    1. Provinces: Mukdahan, Kuchinarai, Kalasin, Khon Kaen, Phitsanulok, Mae Sot and Tak
  3. Laos (229 km) from Khanthabouly to Dansavahn
    1. Provinces: Dansavanh and Savannakhet
  4. Vietnam (271 km) from Lao Bao to Da Nang Port (in the South China Sea).
    1. Provinces: Da Nang, Dong Ha, Thua Thien Hue and Quang Tri

The rest of the ASEAN Countries (Cambodia, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, Philippines, Brunei) are not located directly in the area of influence of the East-West Economic Corridor (Myanmar-Thailand-Laos-Vietnam), but may obtain important advantages.

The East-West Economic Corridor (Myanmar-Thailand-Laos-Vietnam) links with the New Silk Road through China.

Multimodal / Combined Transport

Access to:
  1. Asia-Africa Corridor
  2. Nanning-Singapore Corridor
  3. Pan-Beibu Gulf Economic Zone
  4. Bangladesh-Myanmar Corridor
  5. China-Russia Corridor
  6. Trans-Siberian Railway (Russia, North Korea)
  7. Access to Guangzhou - Shenzhen, the Greater Pearl River Delta, Hong Kong and Macau

The North-South Economic Corridor consists of three routes along the north-south axis of the Greater Mekong Subregion:

  1. The western sub-corridor: Kunming (China) - Chiang Rai (Thailand) - Bangkok (Thailand) via Laos or Myanmar
  2. The central sub-corridor: Kunming (People's Republic of China) - Hanoi (Vietnam) - Hai Phong (Vietnam) which connects to highway No. 1 which runs from the north to the south of Vietnam
  3. The eastern sub-corridor: Nanning (China) - Hanoi (Vietnam) through the Youyi Pass or Fangchenggang (China) - Dongxing (China) - Mong Cai (Vietnam)

Asian regional economic communities related to the East-West Economic Corridor.

  1. China is a member of:
    1. Shanghai Cooperation Organization
    2. Organization for Cooperation between Railways (OSJD)
    3. Central Asia Cooperation (CAREC)
  2. ASEAN
    1. ASEAN Economic Community
    2. ASEAN Free-Trade Area
    3. China-ASEAN Free-Trade Area
    4. Mekong Economic Cooperation: Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam
    5. IMT-GT: Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia
    6. Mekong River Commission: Cambodia, Laos, Thailand and Vietnam
  3. Bay of Bengal Initiative: Myanmar, Bangladesh, India, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Bhutan and Nepal
  4. Greater Mekong Subregion: Cambodia, China, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam
  5. Asia-Pacific Trade Agreement: Bangladesh, China, India, South Korea, Laos, Mongolia and Sri Lanka
  6. Thailand is a member of the Indian-Ocean Rim Association
  7. Myanmar is a member of the Asian Clearing Union
  8. Vietnam is a member of the Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership
  9. China, Thailand and Vietnam are members of the APEC

Trade Agreements related to the Countries of the East-West Economic Corridor

  1. Chinese Trade Agreements: the ASEAN, Singapore, Pakistan, New Zealand, Peru, Costa Rica, the EU, Andean Community..
  2. ASEAN
    1. ASEAN Trade Agreements: China, Canada, Australia-New Zealand, India, the EU, South Korea, Russia, the U.S., Pakistan, Japan..
    2. Thailand has Free Trade Agreements with India, the GCC, China, and New Zealand

Major Asian institutions related to the East-West Economic Corridor

  1. Boao Forum for Asia
  2. Asia Cooperation Dialogue
  3. ESCAP
  4. Asian Development Bank
  5. Colombo Plan

Major Islamic institutions related to the corridor

  1. OCI
  2. Islamic Development Bank

The main religions of the region of the East-West Economic Corridor (Myanmar-Thailand-Laos-Vietnam) are:

  1. Buddhism
  2. Confucianism
  3. Taoism

The East-West Economic Corridor (Myanmar-Thailand-Laos-Vietnam) belongs to the:

  1. Sinic Economic Area
  2. Buddhist Economic Area

Related information:

  1. International North-South Corridor
  2. Corridor of the Ashgabat Agreement
  3. Afghanistan-Turkey Corridor

(c) EENI Global Business School (1995-2024)
We do not use cookies
Top of this page

Knowledge leads to unity, but Ignorance to diversity