EENI Global Business School

Niger Basin Authority, Nigeria

Share by Twitter

Syllabus of the Subject

Socio-economic profile of the Niger Basin: Benin, Burkina, Cameroon, Chad, Guinea, Mali

  1. Introduction to the Niger Basin Authority (NBA)
  2. Statutory Organs of the Niger Basin Authority
  3. Socio-economic Profile of the Niger Basin region: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Ivory Coast, Guinea, Mali, Niger, and Nigeria

Sample - Niger Basin Authority (NBA)
Niger Basin Authority (Benin, Burkina, Cameroon, Chad, Guinea, Mali)

The objectives of the subject “Niger Basin Authority” are to:

  1. Understand the aims of the Niger Basin Authority
  2. Know the socio-economic profile of the Niger Basin region

African Student, Doctorate, Master, International Business, Foreign Trade

Foreign Trade and Business in West Africa

In 1963 entry into force the agreement of the Niger Basin Commission. In 1980 was renamed to the Niger Basin Authority.

Today, the Niger Basin Authority is a regional economic institution formed by nine countries of West Africa and Central Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Ivory Coast, Guinea, Mali, Niger, and Nigeria.

The main objective of the Niger Basin Authority is to encourage the economic development between the member countries, mainly in the Niger River water resource management. The Shared Vision of the Niger Basin reflects the mission of this organization.

  1. Estimated Niger basin population: 150 million people
  2. Total population in the Niger Basin Authority countries: 295 million people
  3. All of them are Less Developed Countries
  4. The main language is French, except Nigeria (English)
  5. The main religions are Islam and Christianity
  6. Headquarters: Niamey (Niger)

Logistics related to the Niger Basin region:

  1. Trans-Sahelian Highway
  2. Tripoli-Windhoek Corridor
  3. Lagos-Mombasa Corridor
  4. Algiers-Lagos Corridor
  5. N’Djamena-Djibouti Corridor
  6. Dakar-Lagos Corridor
  7. Port of Cotonou
  8. Port of Douala
  9. Port of Abidjan
  10. Port of Lagos

The Niger Basin Authority member countries belongs to different Regional Economic Communities (REC):

  1. West African Economic and Monetary Union (WAEMU)
  2. West African Monetary Zone (WAMZ)
  3. Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)
  4. Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS)
  5. Mano River Union
  6. Central African Economic and Monetary Community (CEMAC)
  7. CEN-SAD

Niger Basin Economic

The Niger Basin Authority belongs to the African Civilization.

  1. West African Economic Area
  2. Central African Economic Area

EENI African Business Portal.

We Trust in Africa (Affordable Higher Education for Africans)

(c) EENI Global Business School (1995-2024)
We do not use cookies
Top of this page

Knowledge leads to unity, but Ignorance to diversity